The Triumphal Arch was raised in honour of the victory of the Russian army over Napoleon. The first arch, designed by Osip Bove, went up at the Tverskaya Gate between 1829 and 1834 in white stone and cast iron. In 1936 it was taken apart during the replanning of the square by the Belorussky railway station, and for almost thirty years the city did without the monument. The present arch was assembled anew between 1966 and 1968, by then on Kutuzovsky Avenue, near Poklonnaya Hill and the museum of the Borodino Panorama. A chariot of Glory drawn by six horses stands on top, and figures of old Russian warriors are set between the cast-iron columns.
No reviews yet. Be the first!