Novodevichy Convent

The convent was founded in 1524 by Vasili III in memory of the recovery of Smolensk. The Smolensk Cathedral went up immediately after the foundation, while the rest of the ensemble, with its red and white walls, towers and a bell tower 72 metres high, took shape at the end of the seventeenth century under the regent Sophia, who was later confined in the same place. The ensemble has been on the UNESCO World Heritage list since 2004.

7 views·0 visits

On the map

Renat
Added by:Renat

Reviews (0)

No reviews yet. Be the first!