The Cathedral of the Nativity of the Virgin stands at the centre of the Suzdal kremlin and remains the oldest building in the town. The lower white-stone tier was laid between 1222 and 1225 under Prince Yuri Vsevolodovich, while the upper part was rebuilt in brick in the sixteenth century after the vaults collapsed. The five blue domes with golden stars appeared in the eighteenth century and turned into the most recognisable silhouette of Suzdal. The western and southern entrances are closed by the Golden Doors, copper plates with drawings executed in fire gilding in the thirteenth century. The cathedral is on the World Heritage list together with the other white-stone monuments of Vladimir and Suzdal.
No reviews yet. Be the first!