
A royal monastery in the centre of old Ayutthaya, founded at the end of the 14th century and serving as the seat of the supreme patriarch of the Siamese sangha. The central prang collapsed as early as the 17th century, and the temple was finally burned and plundered by the Burmese army in 1767, so that what is left of it are brick bases, rows of stupas and beheaded stone Buddhas. Its best known detail is the head of a Buddha grown into the roots of a bodhi tree.
No reviews yet. Be the first!