The Makarovsky Bridge is thrown across the Iset at the northern end of the City Pond and carries Chelyuskintsev Street towards the centre of Yekaterinburg. The first crossing here was built back in the nineteenth century beside the flour mill of the merchant Makarov, whose name stayed with the bridge. The present reinforced concrete structure with its run of shallow arches appeared in 1959, and in 2016 it was widened and built up with a covered pedestrian gallery. At the same time the arches and piers were given dynamic lighting that changes colour and turns the bridge into one of the chief evening sights of the city. From the embankment the row of glowing vaults is clearly seen repeated in the water of the pond.
No reviews yet. Be the first!