The museum opened in 1929 as the Blanchard de la Brosse Museum under the Society for Indochinese Studies, and it is the oldest museum collection in the south of Vietnam. The building was put up by the architect Auguste Delaval in the so-called Indochinese style, with a European plan, an octagonal tower and tiled roofs of the Vietnamese kind. It stands right at the entrance to the Saigon Botanical Garden, next door to the temple of the Hung Kings. The display runs from the Stone Age to the middle of the twentieth century, but the most valuable part here is the halls of Cham, Khmer and Oc Eo sculpture from the Mekong Delta. Shown separately are a wooden statue of the thousand-armed Quan Am and the mummy of an eighteenth-century woman found in Saigon.
No reviews yet. Be the first!