
The largest men's monastery of the Russian church was founded around 1337 by Sergius of Radonezh. Behind its walls stand buildings of five centuries, among them the white-stone Trinity Cathedral of 1422, for which Andrei Rublev and Daniil Chorny painted icons, the Dormition Cathedral of the sixteenth century and a five-tier baroque bell tower 88 metres high. Between 1608 and 1610 the monastery withstood a sixteen-month siege by the forces of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth.
No reviews yet. Be the first!