
The cathedral on Cathedral Hill was built between 1677 and 1740 on the site of a church of 1101 that its defenders blew up together with the powder cellar during the final Polish assault of 1611. The five-domed baroque mass, about seventy metres high, is visible from almost any point in the city. Inside stand a carved and gilded iconostasis of the eighteenth century thirty metres tall and a venerated copy of the Smolensk icon of the Mother of God, the Hodegetria.
No reviews yet. Be the first!