The Vlasyevskaya Tower is one of the two surviving towers of the Earthen Town, the belt of fortifications that surrounded the posad of Yaroslavl. The stone structure with a carriage gate was raised between 1658 and 1659 after a great fire that destroyed the earlier wooden walls. The tower took its name from the Church of St Blaise that stood beside it, while its second name, Znamenskaya, comes from the gate church of the Icon of the Sign of the Mother of God. The church in the Russian style was added to the tower on the side of what is now Volkovskaya Square in 1897 to a design by the architect Nikolai Pozdeev. From Pervomayskaya Street a severe white-stone mass with a crenellated top is visible, while from the square the tower hides behind the ornate facade of the church with its gilded cupola.
No reviews yet. Be the first!