
The canal, some five kilometres long, was cut in the eighteenth century along the bed of the Krivusha stream and was known as the Catherine Canal until 1923. It crosses the historic centre and is spanned by twenty-one bridges, among them the chain footbridges called the Bank Bridge and the Lion Bridge. Beyond Sennaya the embankments are quieter than the ceremonial ones, with unbroken rows of tenement houses, granite and almost no sightseeing boats.
No reviews yet. Be the first!