Torzhok Kremlin

On the Upper Hillfort, where the citadel of ancient Novy Torg once stood, a reconstruction of the wooden fortress has been raised, with log walls, a palisade, gates and watch cabins. The original defences burned during the invasion of Batu in 1238 and caught fire more than once afterwards. Inside there is now an open-air museum with weapons and armour of early Rus, siege engines and archery.

10 views·0 visits

On the map

Renat
Added by:Renat

Reviews (0)

No reviews yet. Be the first!