One of the few monasteries in Russia never to have closed: until 1940 Pechory was an Estonian town, and Soviet rule never reached the community. It was founded in 1473 by caves in a sandy hillside. A paved road runs down from the Nikolskaya tower to the Dormition Cathedral, and is known as the Bloody Path. The Dormition church itself is dug into the hill, with only its facade and five blue domes showing outside.
No reviews yet. Be the first!